ARKANSAS STATE TROOPERS ARE ON THE LOOKOUT FOR RECRUITS: TROOP SCHOOL CLASS SET FOR MAY 2016January 12, 2016
Arkansas State Police Recruiters have begun a search for qualified applicants who want to become Arkansas State Troopers.
The recruiters are encouraging applicants to submit their medical assessment waiver and initial contact form as soon as possible prior to February 19th.
Recruit applicants should download and complete the medical assessment waiver along with the initial contact form found on the Arkansas State Police web site
No initial contact form will be considered without a medical assessment waiver from the applicant’s personal physician stating the applicant is sufficiently healthy to pass the physical assessment test.
For additional information applicants may also contact their nearest State Police Troop Headquarters or telephone the recruiting office at (501) 618-8615.
Applicant testing to identify a pool of applicants for recruit positions is already underway. Recruits who are hired will be part of a Troop School expected to begin May 8th with graduation set for September 2016.
Applicants must meet the following minimum qualification in order to be considered by recruiters:
· Minimum age of 21
· U.S. citizenship
· Valid driver license
· High School graduate or equivalent
· Absent of felony convictions
· No conviction of domestic violence
· Meet or exceed visual acuity standard
· No visible tattoos (wearing an ASP uniform)
· Passing grade on initial screening exam
· Pass physical, psychological and polygraph examinations
· Registered with Selective Service or exempt
Throughout January each Highway Patrol troop headquarters across the state will host a recruiting session. Area residents who meet the minimum requirements and are interested in possibly becoming a state trooper are encouraged to come and visit local troopers and see some of the equipment Arkansas State Troopers use every day. The schedule of troop recruit sessions is:
- Troop B – Newport, 3200 Highway 67, January 12th 4 – 6 PM
- Troop E – Pine Bluff, 6816 Princeton Pike, January 12th 3 – 6 PM
- Troop C – Jonesboro, 2216 Access Road, January 14th 5 – 7 PM
- Troop I – Harrison (Mountain Home Driver License
Testing Center, 1318 Bradley Drive, Suite 18) January 15th 2 PM – 6 PM
- Troop G – Hope, 2501 North Hazel, January 16th 11 AM – 1:00 PM
- Troop L – Springdale, 900 South 48th St., January 16th 4 PM – 6 PM
- Troop F – Warren, 1237 North Myrtle St., January 19th 5 PM – 7 PM
- Troop H – Forth Smith, 5728 Kelly Highway, January 20th 4 PM – 6 PM
- Troop J – Clarksville, 2700 West Main St., January 21st 4 PM – 6PM
- Troop K – Hot Springs, 200 Karen St., January 23rd 11 AM – 1 PM
- Troop A – Little Rock, 1 State Police Plaza Dr., January 23rd 3 PM – 5 PM
- Troop D – Forrest City, 3205 North Washington St., January 26th 6 PM – 8 PM
The starting salary for State Police Recruits is $34,500 and raised to $36,000 upon graduation. New troopers receive two regularly scheduled raises of ten percent each during the first seven and a half years of service which increases the annual salary to $43,560. The State Police provides health care insurance for every trooper, their spouse and children as well as lifetime retirement benefits.
Each applicant successfully completing the initial testing phase will be required to submit to a thorough background investigation, polygraph examination and oral interview.
“The standards for being an Arkansas State Trooper are among the highest in law enforcement,” said Colonel William J. Bryant, Director of the Arkansas State Police, “The review process for a recruit applicant is a challenge, much like the actual job of a state trooper. But the long-term rewards are invaluable to anyone who is serious about a law enforcement career.”