STATE TROOPER APPLICANTS BEING RECRUITED FOR NEXT TROOP SCHOOLJune 28, 2013
Arkansas State Police Recruiters have begun a search for qualified applicants who want to become State Troopers.
Applicant testing to identify a pool of applicants for the recruit positions will begin in September and letters of conditional employment will be extended to qualified candidates later this year. Recruiters are encouraging applicants to submit their medical assessment wavier and initial contact form now, but no later than August 31st.
The department’s training staff is preparing its schedule and curriculum for a recruit class set to begin in January 2014. An on-going budget analysis will ultimately dictate how many recruits will be hired.
“Anyone who meets the minimum qualifications and desires a professional career with the Arkansas State Police is encouraged to apply,” said Colonel Stan Witt, Director of the Arkansas State Police.
Minimum qualifications are:
• Minimum age of 21
• U.S. citizenship
• Valid drivers license
• High School graduate or equivalent
• Absent of felony convictions
• No misdemeanor conviction of domestic violence
• Meet or exceed visual acuity standard
• No visible tattoos (wearing an ASP uniform)
• Passing grade on initial screening exam
• Pass physical, psychological and polygraph examinations
• Registered with Selective Service or exempt
Starting salary for State Police Recruits is $34,500 and raised to $36,000 upon graduation. New Troopers receive two regularly scheduled raises of ten percent each during the first seven and a half years of service which increases the annual salary to $43,560.
The recruiting process typically requires a pool of more than a thousand applicants to report for the initial physical assessment test and knowledge based test.
Each applicant who passes the initial testing phase will then be required to submit to a thorough background investigation, polygraph examination and oral interviews.
“Not everyone will make it through the application process, said Colonel Witt. “Our standards are high, the job is demanding, but the career rewards are worthwhile to a young trooper willing to devote twenty years to the department.”
The State Police provides health care insurance for every State Trooper, their spouse and children as well as lifetime retirement benefits.
Applicants can download the medical assessment waivers and initial contact forms at the Arkansas State Police web site http://www.asp.arkansas.gov
No initial contact form will be considered without a medical assessment waiver from the applicant’s personal physician stating the applicant is sufficiently healthy to pass the physical assessment test.
Applicants may also contact their nearest State Police Troop Headquarters or telephone the recruiting hotline at (800) 340-4255.