« Go Back


January 08, 2008 (LITTLE ROCK) - The Arkansas State Police Commission today unanimously approved a motion to appoint Warren Dupwe of Jonesboro as commission chairman. Commissioner Dupwe succeeds former chairman Daniel “Woody” Futrell of Nashville and will serve the final year of his current seven year term in the capacity of commission chairman. Commissioner Dupwe was appointed to the commission in October 2001. Among the other officers appointed today were Charisse Childers, of Little Rock, vice-chairperson and Dr. Lewis Shepherd, Jr. of Arkadelphia, secretary. The commission is comprised of seven members, one from each of the four congressional districts and three at large. All are appointed by the governor. Among the statutory duties of the commissioners are the responsibilities to hire the commissioned personnel employed by the Arkansas State Police and approve or disapprove the recommendations for promotions submitted for consideration by the department’s director. The commission also serves as an appeal body in disciplinary matters involving commissioned employees and regulates the operations of the Arkansas State Police Health Insurance program.