« Go Back


July 18, 2008 (LITTLE ROCK) – Eighteen high school students from across Arkansas have completed a one-week preparatory trooper training regimen and graduated today in ceremonies at Arkansas State Police Headquarters. The graduates were presented certificates by Colonel Winford E. Phillips, Director of the Arkansas State Police. The students participated in abbreviated course studies and practical training exercises similar to those required of Arkansas State Police Recruits. The summertime academy began four years ago as a public service education project sponsored by the department and designed to offer high school students interested in law enforcement careers the opportunity to experience a variety of job assignments associated with the Arkansas State Police. “Several of the graduates from this program over the last four years have stayed in touch with our recruiters,” said Major Kathy Sparks, commander of the Arkansas State Police Administrative Services Division. “We hope some day to see them return as actual recruits and possibly become Arkansas State Troopers.” Classes in crime scene investigations, traffic law, highway crash investigations, law enforcement ethics, patrol procedures and simulated firearms exercises were among the specialized programs presented to the students who arrived here last Sunday (July 13th) and graduated today. The students were housed in the department’s Training Academy barracks where they were also given instruction in drill and ceremony procedures and participated in daily physical agility training. The graduates and special award recipients of the Fourth Annual Arkansas State Police Preparatory Trooper Academy are: • Adrian Hubbard, 18, of Mountain Home, first place recipient in the class confidence course training. • Levi Fleming, 17, of Viola • Dalton Meadows, 17, of Farmington, second place recipient of the class physical assessment test and second place recipient in the confidence course training. • Lilly Olaru, 18, of Hot Springs and recipient of the overall most improved student award. • Justin Sanford, 16, of Ozark • Bradley Stewart, 18, of Lewisville • Beth Warren, 18, of Little Rock • Zachary Bloomfield, 17, of Ash Flat, first place recipient of the class physical assessment test and third place recipient in the confidence course training. • Brandon Bryant, 16, of Dumas • Jonathan Burch, 16, of Dumas • Joel Mills, 16, of Texarkana • Adam Sanders, 17, of Highland • Matthew Brasko, 17, of Fayetteville • Hayden Weathers, 16, of Lepanto • Joshua Baggett, 18, of Hardy • Samuel Donham, 16, of Hensley, third place recipient of the class physical assessment test • Samuel Thacker, 18, of Hot Springs • Nicholas Deringer, 17 of Rector